II. The Seven Churches

A. Introductory Vision: Christ in the midst of the seven golden lampstands (Revelation 1:9-20)

1. John on Patmos (Revelation 1:9-11)

2. Vision of Christ (Revelation 1:12-20)

B. The letters to the seven churches (Revelation 2:1 – 3:22)

1. Ephesus, the passionless church (Revelation 2:1-7)

2. Smyrna, the persecuted church (Revelation 2:8-11)

3. Pergamon, the tolerant church (Revelation 2:12-17)

4. Thyatira, the compromising church (Revelation 2:18-29)

5. Sardis, the dead church (Revelation 3:1-6)

6. Philadelphia, the missionary church (Revelation 3:7-13)

7. Laodicea, the arrogant church (Revelation 3:14-22)


Linked Commentary

Our Returning Lord, (Revelation 1:17-18), Daily Promise Devotional

Revelation 1:10 and The Lord’s Day?

The Lord Among the Churches,

Trusting in Faith, (Revelation 2:26), Daily Promise Devotional

Delivered from Wrath, (Revelation 3:10), Daily Promise Devotional

Revelation 3:10 and Pre-Tribulation Proof?

The Personal God, (Revelation 3:20), Daily Promise Devotional